One thing that appears certain about the growing scandal involving the UTC is that a number of county officials have personally benefited from the scheme.  Read below for more information on the nepotism in county government:

Players in the Upstate Telecommunications Corporation LDC

Identified in the Comptroller’s Report:

  1. Maggie Brooks – Monroe County Executive – p.4 (4x), p.6 (2x), p.7 (x2), p.8, p.10
    1. Appoints the UTC Board, signed off on the UTC contract and all contract Amendments
  1. Dick Mackey – former Deputy County Executive; current Management Consultant for UTC – p.9, p.10
    1. As Deputy County Executive, Mackey submitted the 2004 referral to the County Legislature authorizing the UTC contract.
    2. Mackey also holds “consulting” contracts with at least 3 other county – LDCs.
  1. Nelson Rivera – Monroe County Chief Information Officer (CIO) – p.3, p.4, p.5, p.9, p.10 (x2), p.11, p.12 (x2), p.14, p.15, p.16 (x3)
    1. Responsible for overseeing IT systems
  1. Steve Gleason – former Monroe County Chief Financial Officer (CFO); current Chief Operating Officer for Navitech – p.6, p.9
  1. Kevin Finnerty – former County Purchasing Manager; current Assistant County Executive – p.9
  1. Tony Feroce – County Controller; current ex officio UTC Board of Directors – p.12 (x2), p.13 (x2)
  1. Michael Townsend – UTC Certifying Attorney; original UTC board member in 2004 incorporation papers, current lawyer assigned to LDC from Harris Beach– p.10
  1. Judge Vincent Dinolfo – original UTC board member in 2004 incorporation papers; wife of Monroe County Clerk, former Irondequoit Town Justice now County Court Judge – p.10
  1. County Executive’s stepson – name unknown, works for ECC Technologies, a company named as one of UTC subcontractors, also has contracts independently with the County – p.10

Not Identified in Report:

  1. Hank Stuart – current Chairman of UTC Board of Directors
  1. Ray Diraddo – current UTC Board of Directors, former County Legislator
  1. Aaron Sperano – current UTC Board of Directors and Executive Committee member of the Monroe County Independence Party – not named in report
  1. Dan Lynch – Former Siemens employee, current executive officer for Navichase
  1. Martin Lawson – Original president of the UTC Board
Submit your comment

Please enter your name

Your name is required

Please enter a valid email address

An email address is required

Please enter your message

Monroe County Exposed © 2014 All Rights Reserved